Russia Day Two

We are working hard to send you the news from Kids Talk Radio Russia.

When I woke up this morning it was 9:30 a.m.  When I looked out the window it was still dark outside.  I went to REI when I was back in California.  My job was to buy the warmest winter coat that I could find.  This is a big deal for a California boy in Russia.  Boy, did I need this winter coat last night.  You can forget about how cold they say it is in Chicago.  This place give cold a whole new meaning.

Cynthia Barboza is playing volleyball for a Russian Volleyball Team. She is the only American on the team. This weekend she will play against USA’s Destiney Hooker’s who is playing on another Russian Team

Cynthia has been living in Russia for just about a month.  She took us on a walk and we passed an elementary school and a very large college.  Today we got to see a tank and some guns left over from World War II.

We all went shopping for food last night.  I saw a sign that said, ” No Photos.”  So, you get no photos of Russian food.

I saw a postage stamp with President Obama’s photo on it.  I will share it with you.  It is too cold to take my gloves off and take photos.  I am going to have to get over this.   I am on the third floor of a beautiful Russian appartment building.  The heat is fantastic and I have great view out of all of the windows.

And now for some real Russian News:

It has just started to snow again.   The Hot and the Cold: New places to go to satisy your cravings for Tex-Mex burritos and frozen yogurt with all kinds of toppings.  Yes, this is a hot item in Russia.  We are living in a college town.

We are staying in Cynthia Barboza’s new Russian Apartment.  It have three big rooms, great size bath and kitchen.  I have counted about six windows and we can walk everywhere.   There is an electric train that travels down the middle of the street.

Image

2 thoughts on “Russia Day Two

  1. Backpack Journalist’s Notes: We just came back from my second official walk in Russia. This time I took lots of photos in the snow and rain. It was not easy holding the camera without gloves. It is a good idea to bring along a small pair of glove liners, a small face cloth and a plastic bag to keep the camera dry.

Leave a Reply

